NEEMFest (NorthEastern Electro-Music Festival) September 7-9, 2018 in Homer, NY + Live Streaming Link

NEEMFest (NorthEastern Electro-Music Festival) is happening September 7-9, 2018 in Homer, NY.

NEEMFest 2018 tshirt front final raster.jpg

Where:
Center for the Arts of Homer, in Homer, NY 
(near Rt. 81 Exit 12): http://www.center4art.org

When:
Friday, September 7, 12:00PM-12:00AM
Saturday, September 8, 12:00PM-12:00AM
Sunday, September 9, 12:00PM-12:00AM

Tickets: $10 for a Three-Day Pass!
More Info at neemfest.org

RadioSpiral-HeaderIf you can’t attend in person, RadioSpiral can bring you the next best thing via live broadcast throughout the entire festival.
Go to http://radiospiral.net for details.
You can also listen on TuneIn at: http://tunein.com/radio/RadioSpiral-s285168/

Also, watch for hashtag #NEEMFest on social media outlets.

NEEMFest is a gathering of musicians that use electronic musical instruments and both hardware and software tools to create art in a performance-centric event. This is bigger than your average “synthesizer meet”; this is the philosophy of controllerism and abstract thinking, put into real practice in a peer-based and public environment. Hands-on workshops, seminars, demonstrations, and audio/video technology happen in an informal educational setting where all ages and skill levels are welcome to attend.

NEEM is affiliated with electro-music.com, which was founded by Howard Moscovitz and Greg Waltzer in the early 2000s. NEEMFest 2018 continues this annual festival tradition, now in it’s 15th year, which traditionally happens in the NorthEast quadrant of the USA; three large facilities with space to accomodate performances and workshops have been utilized for NEEM since its conception.

Not only are there constant performances on two stages; there will also be a hands-on “Synthesizer Petting Zoo,” with various rare and odd synthesizers, drum machines, and other pieces of electronic music gear you hadn’t known existed. Please bring your own headphones for the Zoo; iPhone/iPod headsets work well.

There is also a Raffle at this year’s event!

em-behringer-model-D-raffle-poster-screen-rez2

Main Prize: A Brand-New, In-The-Box Behringer Model D Synthesizer! (value: $299)
Second & Third Prize Tiers, TBA at the event.
Tickets are $10 Each, or 3-for-$25.
Sold only on-site at the event on September 7th and 8th.
Drawing: Saturday September 8th at 7:00PM; Must be present to win!

I attended the earlier incarnation of this event called Electro-Music NY in 2010, 2011, 2012, and 2014 hosted by Howard Moscovitz and Greg Waltzer and really enjoyed it. I like the looks of all the changes made as this has evolved to NEEMFest. The new venue looks great and I think the new location in a more populated area with $10 tickets will encourage more of a local audience as well.

I can’t make it out this year so a big thanks to http://radiospiral.net  for the stream http://tunein.com/radio/RadioSpiral-s285168/.

Mark Mosher
Synthesist & Multimedia Artist

Artist Site: NewEcho.com
Electronic Music Tech & Production Blog:  ModulateThis.com

KEXP Live Stream & Schedule for Iceland Airwaves Music Festival 2017

kexp-iceland

KEXP Seattle is is broadcasting live from KEX Hostel in Reykjavik for the Iceland Airwaves Music Festival – woot!

Sets on Wednesday through Friday can be heard live on KEXP at 90.3 FM in Seattle and worldwide at KEXP.ORG. Sets from all days will be streamed with live video on KEXP’s Facebook page.

I didn’t realize KEXP was streaming till lunch time today where I luckily caught the live stream from my favorite band GusGus’s set. It was a fantastic set so hopefully they’ll post recordings of all the sets for the whole weekend at some point. For now, here is blog post “KEXP Live at Iceland Airwaves 2017, Day 1: GusGus“.

icelandairwaves_blog

Join KEXP as we return to the land of fire and ice, broadcasting live from KEX Hostel in Reykjavik for the Iceland Airwaves Music Festival! KEXP’s international broadcast will feature 16 exclusive performances live on air on Wednesday, November 1st, through Saturday, November 4th, from 6AM-2PM (Pacific Time).

If you are in Reykjavik during Iceland Airwaves, the following performances and broadcast at KEX Hostel are free and open to the public. Space is limited on a first come, first served basis.

Tuesday, October 31st [not broadcast but available as live streaming video]
01:00PM PST/ 04:00PM EST – Bangoura Band
02:00PM PST/ 05:00PM EST – Kiasmos

Wednesday, November 1st
06:00AM PST/ 09:00AM EST – Between Mountains
08:30AM PST/ 11:30AM EST – Sóley
11:00AM PST/ 02:00PM EST – GusGus
01:30PM PST/ 04:30PM EST – Hatari

Thursday, November 2nd
06:00AM PST/ 09:00AM EST – JFDR
08:30AM PST/ 11:30AM EST – Par-Ðar
11:00AM PST/ 02:00PM EST – Glintshake
01:30PM PST/ 04:30PM EST – Hórmónar

Friday, November 3rd
06:00AM PST/ 09:00AM EST – Mikko Joensuu
08:30AM PST/ 11:30AM EST – Gordi
11:00AM PST/ 02:00PM EST – Fai Baba
01:30PM PST/ 04:30PM EST – Högni

Saturday, November 4th [not broadcast but available as live streaming video]
06:00AM PST/ 09:00AM EST – Megas
08:00AM PST/ 11:30AM EST – Lido Pimienta
10:00AM PST/ 02:00PM EST – GlerAkur
12:00PM PST/ 04:30PM EST – HAM


Mark Mosher
Composer, Synthesist, Electronic Musician, Multimedia Artist
Boulder, CO
MarkMosherMusic.com
ModulateThis.com